Burda · pattern hack · tanks

Anthropologie Knock-off Layered Tank

A while back I came across these layered tanks from Anthropologie and kind of fell in love: super simple shape, easy to wear and make, and yet the style allows for mixing different fabrics in a really fun way. I made a knock-off, but I just used stash fabrics as a muslin and the quilting cotton produced a rather stiff tank top.

When I came across this linen-rayon print at Jo-ann's, though, I knew it would make a great upper layer for this tank. I grabbed some matching black linen-rayon, and a yard of each (although really, I could have gotten away with half a yard, easily) got me this lovely tank top.

I love the print and I really wish I'd bought more than a yard of it while it was still available–I'd totally have made a dress in this style and worn it all summer.

This linen-rayon is also lovely. The rayon keeps the linen from wrinkling too badly, I think, and it has a wonderfully soft drape while still retaning quite a bit of body. Linen is often a bit too stiff for me–it won't soften up unless you wash it like crazy–so I prefer the rayon blend since it is soft from the get-go.

As with the muslin version, I didn't bother with any closures–this just slips over my head. I did stay-stitch all the curves, though, and so far haven't had any problems with the seams stretching out.

I have a few other fabric pairings I'd like to make in this style, and even though it's cooling off rapidly here in the Pacific Northwest, I might still make a few. This is such an easy top to wear under a cardigan that I can probably get away with it for a while longer. And it doesn't hurt that I always get asked about this top when I wear it!

 

Leave a Reply

