babies · children's clothes · Simplicity

Baby Romper!

My brother and sister-in-law had an adorable baby girl back in December, and since I was able to visit them for a night this week I decided to make my newest little niece a romper. I have a bunch of romper patterns, but I was totally suckered in by the minimalism of Simplicity 8098, specifically View C. It's such a simple pattern, but I like being able to pair together different fabrics without the design becoming overwhelming.

A quick jaunt through the stash turned up a very fun pale aqua with tiny gold triangles and some remnants of a netural linen/rayon mix. They were both from Joann's, I think, but the linen/rayon has been in my stash for a few years, at least. The aqua is a quilting cotton, but I don't mind using those in such small quantities for baby clothes–a little stiffness isn't a problem since it's not like the clothes are terribly fitted anyway.

I cut a straight size S, based on my niece's age (6 months), and I think it turned out perfect. My niece has adorably chubby everything, though, so might be wise to size down for a smaller baby–the pattern is definitely generous through the waist. I did also run into a few issues and made a few changes:

  • Pattern error: the back piece for View C is incorrectly sized–the shoulder width doesn't match the front piece. I didn't really worry about it too much. Rather than re-cutting, once I noticed, I simply made the neck wider. If I make this again I might resize the piece, but I'll wait to hear how it fits my niece. Slightly bigger through the neck isn't really a problem for babies (especially if her parents choose to have her wear a onsie underneath). The pattern error, as I recall, repeats until the size L, so it's worth checking the other pieces before you cut.
  • Crotch flap: the instructions call for the back crotch flap to overlap the front. As you can tell from the photo above, this doesn't make much sense–the back piece is smaller in width than the front. If I make this again, I'll just reverse the overlap. I've noticed this problem on a few other baby romper/onsie patterns from Simplicity, so my guess is that they are just recycling instructions/design across various patterns. The finished product looks fine, but it would look much nicer, I think, if the front flap were on top.
  • Inner legs: the pattern has you create channels for the leg elastic by turning the seam twice. It's tough, I think, to make sure the channel remains wide enough for your elastic and yet still get a really even looking seam that's nicely turned on such a curve, so I just didn't bother. Instead, I simply serged the raw edge, turned it up once, and topstitched. Looks great and the channel was easy to thread with elastic.

No other major changes, so far as I remember. The back is just as cute as the front–I love the buttons on the little faux pockets–although I do wonder about buttons down the back of a romper for a baby. Do the buttons bother them, since they spend so much time on their backs? I accidentally miscut the back, actually (the triangles point down on the back and up on the front), but I strongly doubt my brother and sister-in-law will ever notice.

I finished out the present with a gift of two wrapping cloths–just microfleece edged with some fun bias (a project I've done before from the wonderful Last Minute Patchwork + Quilted Gifts by Purl Soho's Joelle Hoverson). Such a great book.
I didn't get any pics of my niece wearing her little outfit, I'm afraid, but I'm sure she'll enjoy it at least once before she outgrows it. Babies, right?

 

Leave a Reply

